Why did you lose weight? and How did you lose weight and keep it off?

I know that many other sites (or people) will provide a list of all the changes they made in their eating habits which does not truly answer the question. To me that is just someone giving you a list of things to do that seem daunting and can easily make the idea of weight-loss seem like an impossible task. Most “diets” are dreadful. You become miserable because you are not eating the foods you like, starving yourself, or denying yourself from your cravings which easily lead to binge eating, giving up, and regaining the weight you loss plus more. Once the concept that weight-loss is a change in lifestyle is accepted then you are ready to have this be a part of your life forever and you will be able to start the journey to have a better relationship with food. This journey is for you to discover what foods you like, how your body reacts to them, and finding a healthy balance to eat the foods that are not the healthiest at times but not feel guilty about it.

I am often asked, “Why did you lose weight? and How did you lose weight and keep it off?” In all honesty, the only true answer to this is: you have to want it. You have to have a strong reason that will keep you from giving into the desire to quit. It can be fear, love, revenge (…ect) It can be anything. Initially the root of it is obsession (passion and dedication).

My driving force is the fear of losing those I love the most. Every time I felt like giving in, I thought about why I was doing what I was doing. I would use a reference to Star Wars to keep me going when I felt like giving in. The acronym is  FDLWYCA : Fear and Doubt Lose What You Care About.

I took the acronym and attached it to everything I looked at to keep me motivated. I had it taped to my wallet, my computer screen at home, and at work. It was the banner on the screen of my phone, and I taped it to the front and back of my phone, along with my mp3 player. I had a note taped to the radio in my car and I wrote it in sharpie on the inside of my fingers on both hands.

In addition to focusing on my FDLWYCA mantra, whenever I felt stuck and in a rut, I would speak to myself out loud and convince myself that I could move beyond my perceived limitations. I would tell myself in between breaths things like, “There are only 5 more reps, you can do it!” And yes, I would do it! Even when I was fully out of breathe and when my body felt weak, I pulled it off. I had become stubborn in refusing to believe that I could not complete a task that I had set out to do. Even if I needed to pause for a few moments, I still refused to stop until I completed my objective. Oftentimes I would find myself in a puddle of sweat and panting heavily, but I was always smiling. I did not give in to my doubt, and I was able to do it!

I provide more in depth information about my past here.

Movie and TV Motivation references:

Hook: Adult Peter Pan had to relearn how to fly, had to find the one happy thought that would keep him from falling and allow him to save his children.
Game of Thrones: Arya Stark’s drive to survive in order to enact revenge
Princess Bride: Inigo Montoya tracks down and kills Count Rugen who had killed his father.
Princess Bride: Westley returns from the dead in order to save his true love Princess Buttercup.
Star Wars: Anakin Skywalker turning into Darth Vader out of revenge for his mother’s passing and fear of losing Padme.
Mulan: To save her father from death in the army, Mulan secretly goes in his place and becomes one of China’s greatest heroines in the process.

Here are some inspirational movie Quotes:
We are who we choose to be. – Green Goblin, from Spider-Man

Oh yes, the past can hurt. But you can either run from it, or learn from it. – Rafiki, from The Lion King

You can’t live your life for other people. You’ve got to do what’s right for you, even if it hurts some people you love. – from The Notebook

Don’t let anyone ever make you feel like you don’t deserve what you want. – Heath Ledger, from 10 Things I Hate About You

It is not our abilities that show what we truly are… it is our choices. – Dumbledore, from Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Don’t ever let somebody tell you you can’t do something, not even me. Alright? You dream, you gotta protect it. People can’t do something themselves, they wanna tell you you can’t do it. If you want something, go get it. Period. – Chris Gardner, from The Pursuit of Happyness

Do, or do not. There is no “try”. – Yoda, from Star Wars

If you’re going to try, go all the way. Otherwise don’t even start. This could mean losing girlfriends, wives, relatives, jobs. And maybe your mind. It could mean not eating for three or four days. It could mean freezing on a park bench. It could mean jail. It could mean derision. It could mean mockery, isolation. Isolation is the gift. All the others are a test of your endurance. Of how much you really want to do it. And you’ll do it, despite rejection in the worst odds. And it will be better than anything else you can imagine. – from Factotum

All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us. – from Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Great men are not born great, they grow great. – Mario Puzo, from The Godfather

I know what I have to do now, I’ve got to keep breathing because tomorrow the sun will rise. Who knows what the tide could bring? – from Cast Away

It’s what you do right now that makes a difference. – from Black Hawk Down

Leave a Reply

